EALAC Service Appointments and Schedule for 2016-2017

EALAC Executive and Departmental Staff Committee Meeting Schedule

All meetings are at 12-1:10 p.m. on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, or Thursdays in 403 Kent Hall.

Fall 2016
9/13 (Tuesday) – Executive Committee Meeting
10/6 (Thursday) – Executive Committee Meeting
11/3 (Thursday) – Executive Committee Meeting
12/6 (Tuesday) – Departmental Staff Committee Meeting

Spring 2017
1/24 (Tuesday) – Executive Committee Meeting
2/23 (Thursday) – Executive Committee Meeting
3/21 (Tuesday) – Executive Committee Meeting
4/19 (Wednesday) – Departmental Staff Committee Meeting

Curriculum, Scheduling, Language Committee, and Admissions Committee Meetings are usually held on Tuesdays or Thursdays from 12-1 PM, on non-Executive Committee meeting days. Lunch sandwiches are served.

Curriculum Committee Meeting

Fall 2016
9/22 (Thursday) – Curriculum Committee Meeting
10/13 (Thursday) – Curriculum Committee Meeting
11/17 (Thursday) – Curriculum Committee Meeting
12/15 (Thursday) – Curriculum Committee Meeting

Departmental and University Service Appointments

Contribution to EALAC and/or University service is a requirement for all full-time faculty and is a prerequisite to participate in Ph.D. admissions.

Administrative Positions
Department Chair: Haruo Shirane
Deputy Chair: Wei Shang
Acting Director of Graduate Studies: Tomi Suzuki
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Paul Anderer
M.A. Faculty Director: Ying Qian
M.A. Program Director: Gal Gvili
History-East Asia Coordinator: Gregory Pflugfelder

Departmental Staff
Director of Academic Administration and Finance: Youngmi Jin
Program Manager & Executive Assistant to the Chair: Laura Schlein
Business Manager: Anri Vartanov
Academic Coordinator: Kevin Stillwell
Financial/Administrative Assistant: Rosi Gomez

Language Program Directors
Chinese language (director): Lening Liu
Japanese language (director): Miharu Nittono
Korean language (director): Carol Schulz
Tibetan language (director): Sonam Tsering

Institutes and Centers
Weatherhead Institute (director): Eugenia Lean
Center for Korean Research (director): Theodore Hughes
Donald Keene Center of Japanese Culture (director): David Lurie
Tang Center for Early China (director): Feng Li
Institute for Comparative Literature and Society (director): Lydia Liu
UCAME (chair): Wei Shang
Center for East Asian Religions (director): Bernard Faure

Searches and Faculty Reviews
Vietnamese Humanities search: Shang Wei (chair), Mana Kia (MESAAS), Robert Hymes, Jungwon Kim, Eugenia Lean, David Lurie, Haruo Shirane

Faculty Leaves (2016-2017)

Li Feng (fall and spring), Theodore Hughes (Fall), Bernard Faure (spring); Charles Armstrong (spring); Dorothy Ko (fall), Max Moerman (spring).

Heavy Courseloads

Harrison Huang/Guo Jue (China Civ), Greg Pflugfelder/Paul Kreitman (Japan civ.), Gray Tuttle (Tibet Civ.), Jungwon Kim (Korean Civ.)

Proposed EALAC Language Lecture Review Guidelines
Guidelines: 2nd, 5th, and 8th year reviews require one expert in language pedagogy (usually a language director) and one person from outside the department. Reviews from 13th year onward are conducted by the department chair, an expert in language pedagogy, and a person external to the department. Deadline for all review reports: March 1, 2017. For more details go to EALAC website.

Language Review Committees

Fall 2016
Zhongqi, Shi (possible promotion, 13th year review in 2018-2019): Matti Zelin (chair), Carol Schulz, external member, Haruo Shirane ex officio
Yan, Ling (13th Year Review): Eugenia Lean (chair), Miharu Nittono (Program Director), external member, Haruo Shirane ex officio.
Eguchi, Shigeru (23rd Year Review): Hikari Hori (chair), Lening Liu, external member, Haruo Shirane ex officio.
Chung, Eunice (2nd Year Review): Charles Armstrong (chair), Sonam Tsering (Program Director), external reviewer

Spring 2017 (January and February, deadline March 1)
Xu, Jia (5th Year Review): Wei Shang (chair), Miharu Nittono, external reviewer
Tatsumi, Naofumi (5th Year Review): Greg Pflugfelder (chair), Carol Schulz, external reviewer (Richard Korb?)
Lee, Beom (possible promotion, 13th year review in 2018-2019): Theodore Hughes (chair), Lening Liu, external member (Carol Round?), Haruo Shirane ex officio

Junior Faculty Reviews

Jungwon Kim (third year review): TBA
Hikari Hori (tenure review, spring 2017): TBA

EALAC Standing Committees

Admissions and TA/Fellowship Renewal Committee
Tomi Suzuki (DGS/chair), Haruo Shirane, Wei Shang, Greg Pflugfelder, Eugenia Lean, Gray Tuttle, Jungwon Kim, Michael Como.

Curriculum Development Committee
Robert Hymes (chair), Tomi Suzuki (DGS), Harrison Huang, Haruo Shirane, Paul Anderer (DUS), Gal Gvili (MAO Program Director), imput from members of the Executive Committee (David Lurie, Lydia Liu, Madeleine Zelin, Gray Tuttle, and others)

Language Committee
Carol Schulz (Chair), Lening Liu, Miharu Nittono, Sonam Tsering, Hikari Hori, Jungwon Kim.

Scheduling and Programming Committee
Tomi Suzuki (chair), Wei Shang, Youngmi Jin, Laura Schlein

EALAC Mentors for Junior Faculty

Hikari Hori: Greg Pflugfelder, Tomi Suzuki
Ying Qian: Gray Tuttle, Madeleine Zelin
Harrison Huang: Wei Shang, Robert Hymes
Jungwon Kim: Dorothy Ko, Charles Armstrong
Zhaohua Yang: Bernard Faure, Michael Como
Paul Kreitman: David Lurie, Eugenia Lean

New Arrivals

Paul Kreitman (Assistant Professor, Japanese History)
Seong-Uk Kim (Cho Visiting Assistant Professor in Korean Culture and Religion)
Gal Gvili (M.A. Program Director)
Tianqi Jiang (Chinese lecturer)
Wenlian Zhang (exchange Chinese lecturer)
Yicheng Zhang (exchange Chinese lecturer)

Consortium Representatives
Inter-University Center for Japanese Language: David Lurie
KCJS: Henry Smith (faculty director)
Columbia-Waseda Double Degree Program: Tomi Suzuki
CLTL(Consortium for Language Teaching & Learning) representative: Beom Lee

External Committees and University Service
EPPC: Haruo Shirane
TRAC: Madeleine Zelin
NRC (PI)/Title XI Center (director): Madeleine Zelin
Central Library RECAP committee: Madeleine Zelin
Summer Fellowships for EALAC: Tomi Suzuki (DGS), Haruo Shirane (Chair), Wei Shang
Global Core Committee: David Lurie, Wei Shang
Global Center Beijing Faculty Steering Committee: Eugenia Lean, Haruo Shirane
Starr Library Faculty Advisory Committee: Ted Hughes, Eugenia Lean, David Lurie, Shang Wei, Haruo Shirane, Gray Tuttle
Standing Committee on Language Lecturers: Greg Pflugfelder
CSSD (Center for the Study of Social Difference) Executive Committee: Lydia Liu

External Fellowship Selection Committees
GSAS Fellowships (Fulbright, Traveling, etc.): Paul Kreitman
Waseda 125th Anniversary Fellowship Committee (chair): David Lurie
Tsunoda Senior Fellowship Committee (chair): Tomi Suzuki
Heyman Center Post-Doc Applications: Harrison Huang

EALAC Post-Doctoral Fellows
Tucker Harding (Weatherhead/EALAC Post-doc, digital humanities)
Charles Woolley (Heyman Center Post-Doctoral Fellow)


Fall 2016
Robbie Barnett (Tibetan Studies)
Pema Bhum (Tibetan Language)
Itsuki Hayashi (Asian Humanities)
James Lap (Vietnamese Language)
Tuo Li (Chinese Literature)
Conrad Schirokauer (Heyman Center, CAME)

Spring 2017
Robbie Barnett (Tibetan Studies)
Pema Bhum (Tibetan Language)
David John Brophy (Associate Research Scholar)
James Lap (Vietnamese Language)
Itsuki Hayashi (Asian Humanities)
Andrew Plaks (Pre-modern Chinese Literature)
Morris Rossabi (Inner Asian & East Asian History)
Takashi Sakikawa (Tang Center)
Conrad Schirokauer (Heyman Center, CAME)